A wee update

Now that I’m a student again, I’m getting discounts at retailers and council tax exemptions and, most exciting of all, access to eduroam again (yay!) I’m not sure of the precise moment I transitioned from the status of “funemployed” to “student” but there you go, it’s official. I also think this will be my last blast at it, which is sad but as I have studied at 4 different institutions – 7 if you count summer schools – around the world, I can’t complain I haven’t had enough education.

My living situation I am happy to say has stabilised, as I managed to wangle a place in a brand new university postgrad complex. It is a relief to both have a place to live, and to know that there will be no freshers around, waking me up at the ungodly hour of 11pm with their partying. When I spent the day in Edinburgh last week and walked past my future home, it still looked like a construction site. When I asked one of the builders if it would be ready in time, the response was: “what do you thenk?” Great.

Oh, I’ll also be sharing a kitchen with 479 other people. Yeah you read that right – one big open plan kitchen for all the residents. It’s some kind of living concept imported from Australia and the States. I’m not sure how I feel about it, but I’ll definitely let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

